Life as an everyday diabetic (about me)

Posted on May 20, 2011

0


Sorry, I should also have pointed out that I am Type 2 diabetic and have been for the past 22 years. Things got really bad after the first 20, which is the cut off point when the build up of diabetes in the body begins to take its toll.

I was very  obese (very fat), moody, difficult to be around , exhausted, depressed, anxious.

I could barely function for weeks I was so scared. Also I came to the conclusion that I could not be the only one going through this and I wanted to initially vent my frustration at the diabetic health care system for being no use. Then I wanted to have a go at my ex employers for treating me so badly but as things progressed and I figured out how to make myself better (I now have perfect blood sugar all the time, it’s 6.8 as I type this) I came to realise that being diabetic and the way we live/are treated is due to a huge misrepresentation in society. Everyone thinks they know about diabetes, even the doctors and the people who create diabetic iPod applications but only the diabetics know what it is really like and we don’t communicate enough to express this to the Diabetic Industry. This lack of accurate social representation also breeds ignorance and misinformation, causing confusion which at the end of the day trickles back down to us.

My blog is a shared voice of our hopes and frustrations, written not just for us everyday diabetics but for our loved ones to understand us more and the medical profession to learn more.

Do you know that if the Diabetic Industry really understood us they could create more accurate medicine?

Thanks again,

Dean

